Veröffentlicht am

How I met Namazu

Why is the force that strong with me? Well, I didn’t survived the tsunami of 2011 and all I’ve got was this lousy t-shirt. But I have been on location of the tsunami 2004, right there where this quite famous photo was taken:

Click to see the original post with more info.

Well, Ao Nang was more lucky than Phuket, you can watch a video here. But many people lost their boats and some their houses, most of them have had no insurance, not for a tsunami at least. I’ve visited RailayPhi Phi island aka „The Beach“ and some other islands, too. That was 2010, but a closer look revealed still some signs of devastation. Not to mention the omnipresent mandatories:

Poda Island is flat and 1000 m long, so where to run?

So I did actually meet Namazu in 3 of 4 dimensions at least. Now it’s getting strange (again), I nearly met him in person. How that? Well, there are many fish farms in Thailand, but this one is unique. Yes, not any catfish, but GIANT catfish. Talking about animals with a super sense for danger (remember the base of the myth, catfish can feel earthquakes with their whiskers/barbels far better and earlier than any seismograph), First Science TV made a documentary about the fact that no free animal in Thailand got killed back in 2004:

What are the odds for so many connections? Even I’ve heard of Krabi and Ao Nang ages ago from a friend who was there, that special destination wasn’t my idea, my company suggested it. And there’s still more, on they way back I ran in another natural event. No close connection? Read this and think again. The land of fire and ice is the tectonic hot spot of the North Atlantic Ocean, so it’s a rather possible source for a tsunami… it seems that I can run, but I can’t hide.

Über twixraider

Raider heißt jetzt Twix… sonst ändert sich nix, ich suche immer noch einen Job als Scherzkeks.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

